The Victorian Curriculum provide the basis for curriculum planning for all schools in Victoria.

The Victorian Curriculum is the single curriculum now including stages A – D (Pre foundation) as well as Foundation to Year 10.


Stages A –D provide a framework for developing effective learning programs and assessing students in Victorian schools who are recognised as working

towards Foundation Level.


In 2014 the Department of Education and Training implemented the Australian Curriculum in the areas of English, Geography, History, Mathematics and Science.  The Victorian Curriculum incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian priorities and standards.


The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills that are required by all students for life-long learning, social development and active and informed citizenship.


The guidelines propose that there are foundational areas of learning – English, Mathematics, Health and PE, Science, Humanities and The Arts. – that students should undertake every year of schooling, following a well-established sequence of learning.

In other learning areas, however, schools should have some flexibility in the way they structure their teaching and learning program to accommodate the capacity of schools to innovate and specialise.

Monash SDS requires that all students have Individual Learning Plans. These are developed in consultation with parents at Student Support Group meetings. Plans set out the individual goals for each student. Student individual goals are met through activities based on the Aus Vels curriculum.

Each Department of the school delivers curriculum in the following manner:

EARLY EDUCATION - Modified VEYLDF curriculum

PRIMARY – Integrated curriculum based on themes each terms

SENIORS – Core curriculum plus electives

PATHWAYS – Core curriculum plus post school pathways.


Use this link to find more information about The Victorian Curriculum.

© Copyright 2021 Monash Special Developmental School